Book review: Love In the Time of Treason

Author: Zubeida Jaffer

When I picked up this book and read the synopsis I thought it was a typical love story, only with the added flavour of apartheid. Boy meets girl. They fall in love. The system tries to keep them apart. But they live happily ever after. With this in mind I couldn’t even get passed the first chapter. I read a few pages and tossed it for a different book. I tried again after a few months and abandoned the book for something else. However, on the third attempt I forced my way through the first chapter and I couldn’t put this book down.

This literally is a case of “don’t judge a book by its cover”. Love In the Time of Treason is beautiful and unpredictable love story that unfolded during very trying times in South Africa. It’s hard to imagine that people with such patience, tolerance and faith really existed when South Africa was in turmoil. This book also shows once again how the apartheid regime ruined families and lives.

I don’t want to say anything about the actual storyline. Best you get a copy and read it yourself. Truly one of the best books I’ve read written by one of South Africa’s greatest journalists and struggle stalwart.

Leave a Reply

