What I have gained during Ramadan

One week to go and Ramadan will have passed. I can’t believe how quickly it went by. Like super quickly. 


This year I have been busy with a thesis under the topic “traditional media vs new media”. Being the procrastinator that I am, I just couldn’t seem to get started on it. And having to juggle work full-time and studying part-time has been one of the most difficult things I’ve ever had to do so far. A couple of weeks before the fast started I had comforted myself with the fact that Ramadan was approaching. The idea was to draw as much strength, guidance and courage from this holy month as possible in order to get through the tough times that I was experiencing. 


And when the month commenced I had forgotten how limited time is in the evenings, and evenings being the only time I was able to work on the thesis. I had forgotten how much time it takes to prepare for Iftaar. And after the Taraweeh prayers you basically don’t have much time left do anything else. A couple of nights went by and I started to panic and realised that I actually had to start focusing.


Well, the bulk of my thesis is due tomorrow (Monday). It is just over two hours left until Iftaar and I am not yet finished. I can’t seem to understand this Information Society Theory which is required for my literature review chapter. So far I am quite satisfied with what I’ve got. 


The point of this blog entry is that I went into the month seeking something. And that was the strength, courage, guidance and knowledge that I so desperately needed. I prayed hard for it and it has truly been a month of mercy for me. I managed to get most of my work done. And I am ever so grateful for that. I didn’t think I would get through it all. All I can is that Allah is truly greatest.

Leave a Reply

